Thursday, July 18, 2024
HomeJune 15-30, 2024Recipients include Prime Minister of Barbados and developers of mRNA vaccines for...

Recipients include Prime Minister of Barbados and developers of mRNA vaccines for COVID-19

WHO Director-General’s Award for Global Health

GENEVA: Professor Katalin Karikó and Professor Drew Weissman of the University of Pennsylvania, were also awarded for their outstanding contributions to the development of mRNA vaccines for COVID-19 at the opening of the World Health Assembly on 27 May. “Professors Karikó and Weissman played a key role in alleviating the burden of COVID-19 and saved lives during the pandemic,” said Dr Tedros. “Their leadership in this field has the potential to play a critical role in improving health worldwide.”

Mia Mottley Prime Minister of Barbados being presented an Award
for her outstanding contri-butions during the World Health Assembly
held at WHO Headquarters recently.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley is the Eighth Prime Minister of Barbados. She became the first woman to occupy the high office in 2018, with the largest majority in the history of the country. PM Mottley was re-elected in 2022, winning all 30 seats in the House of Assembly a second time. Prime Minister Mottley currently also holds the portfolios of Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment. In addition to multiple regional and international roles, PM Mottley is also Chair of the World Health Organization’s Global Leaders Group on Antimicrobial Resistance. She has received multiple accolades for her strong voice in favor of sustainable policies in the context of climate change and other global challenges.
Professors Karikó and Weissman were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2023. Their discovery “fundamentally changed our understanding of how mRNA interacts with our immune system,” the Nobel prize panel wrote.

Professor Karikó is a professor at University of Szeged in Hungary and adjunct professor of neurosurgery at the Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania. She is former senior vice president at BioNTech SE, Mainz, Germany, where she worked between 2013-2022. For four decades, her research has been focusing on RNA-mediated mechanisms with the goal of developing in vitro-transcribed mRNA for protein therapy.

Professor Drew Weissman is Roberts Family Professor in Vaccine Research and Director of the Penn Institute for RNA Innovation. He is a Professor in the Department of Medicine and Director of Vaccine Research in the Infectious Diseases Division at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Professor Weissman is a physician, scientist, and pioneer in the science of immunology, with major contributions to the field. Notably, Professor Weissman, together with Professor Karikó, discovered a novel nucleoside-modified mRNA platform that bypasses adverse immunologic response.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments