UHS takes the initiative for form Council for Collaboration in Medical Education


UHS takes the initiative for form Council
for Collaboration in Medical Education

Five members Core Committee constituted
headed by Prof. Junaid Sarfraz Khan

From our correspondent

LAHORE: University of Health Sciences Lahore (UHS) has taken the initiative to establish the Council for Collaboration in Medical Education (CCME) with the objective of providing a meaningful, practical forum for medical education, coordinating activities and steering them in the right direction through a concerted efforts. Prof. Junaid Sarfraz Khan, Professor of Medical Education and Pro Vice Chancellor of University of Health Sciences who took this initiative has been elected as the President for a term of one year while Dr. Musarrat ul Husnain from Punjab Medical College has been elected as President-elect and Dr.Munir Azhar as its Secretary. The five member core committee constituted by the CCME also includes Prof. Sohail Khurshid Lodhi and Prof.Syed Hassan Shoaib apart from the President, President-elect and Secretary.

It all started with a meeting of heads of departments of medical education in the province of Punjab affiliated with the University of Health Sciences which was held earlier this year on March 31st 2014 at UHS. The objective was to develop a road map for better coordination amongst all the institutions, affiliated colleges utilizing the available resources. A general body meeting of the CCME held on November 21st during the just concluded International Conference on Simulation at UHS  discussed the By-Laws of CCME and opened its membership to medical educationists all over the country. According to the By-Laws approved all those who have atleast masters level qualifications will be eligible for full membership and those who hold diploma/certificate in medical education can become Affiliate Members. The executive Committee will consist of five members besides two undergraduate students enrolled in any medical college and two postgraduate trainees registered in accredited postgraduate programmes which will be nominated by the Executive Committee. The term of Council members other than the student’s members shall be four years. Pakistan Medical and Dental Council and Higher Education Commission will also be given representation by the Executive Committee.

According to Prof. Junaid Sarfraz Khan, the  aims and objectives or responsibilities of Council for Collaboration in Medical Education (CCME) will be as follows:

  1. Understanding challenges faced by medical educationists in their local and regional settings.
  2. Effectively coordinating the efforts of the Medical Educationists in overcoming these challenges.
  3. Designing and implementing teaching and learning strategies for the Continuous Professional Development of the faculty.
  4. Prioritizing areas of Continuous Professional Development
  5. Developing strategies to engage students, junior and senior faculty and the members of the community in personal and professional development exercises.
  6. Establishing research protocols in Health Professionals Education.
  7. Identifying areas of research in Health Professionals Education/Medical Education.
  8. Developing strategies for collaborative research, teaching and learning.
  9. Developing a short-term, mid-term and long-term plan for upgrading Health Professionals Education in the region based on Best Evidence Medical Education Practices.
  10. Encouraging innovations in medical education and practice.
  11. Planning and conducting national and international conferences and seminars on Medical Education.
  12. Launching Journal of Medical Education from this plateforms which will be the official journal of the council.
  13. Curriculum review and evaluation.

CCME has also constituted three sub- committees. The Research sub-committee is headed by Dr. Musarrat ul Husnain and the members include Dr.Tanzeela Khalid, Dr. Noor Fatima, Dr.Saira Mansoor and Dr.Asad Tameezuddin. Curriculum Committee is headed by Prof. Sohail Khurshid Lodhi and the members include Prof. Muhammad Tayyab, Prof. Mowadat Husain Rana, Prof.Sabir and Dr. Muhammad Waris Farooka. Sub-committee on Continuous Professional Development is headed by Prof Syed Hassan Shaoib. Its members are Prof.Asghar Naqvi, Prof. Khalid Mehmood Chaudhry, Prof. Humera Arshad and Brig.M. Luqman. The tenure of the core committee as well as these sub-committee is three years. These sub-committees are required to  carry out a needs analysis in their respective areas and indentify issues, challenges which will be dicussed in the next meeting. Efforsts are also being made to launch the official journalof CCME. Those behind this initiative are hopeful that   CCME shall be able to make meaningful changes in the right direction in Medical Education nationally as well as internationally.

© Professional Medical Publications. All rights reserved.